Consoling The Consolers

2 Mar

I’m emotional. ALOT. My girlfriend will tell you that half of the time I’m usually crying because of some heart-to-heart conversation I’ve had with my mom or some heartfelt commercial that just hit home. I don’t cry often, but when I do, it’s meaningful to say the least. What I find hard as I get older and older is the more and more I’m consoling others, I find it hard to dig deep and console my own self when I’m lost somewhere in the trenches and need some picking up. There are often times when I myself can’t handle my overly-emotional self or being emotional with someone else who is close to me – and I sort of nudge them away. It is sort of a self-defense mechanism in a way, I guess. But I just realized I did it to my mom just now as she was poundering me and asking me if I was okay and being the over-protective Mother she always is. Maybe it’s that or maybe it’s just that AND a bunch of other nonsense going on in my head. As you can see, I tend to ramble and I tend to have a million things going on in my head and life all at once that never seem to sort itself out one thing at a time. I guess they all have their own natural way of working their way out and I just have to trust that the whole “patience is a virtue” saying is for real and not just something some fancy white dude said once and banked on it every time after that.

One Response to “Consoling The Consolers”

  1. Christina Rodriguez March 2, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    I do this a lot too! It’s an awful cycle.

Leave a Reply

