It Pays To Pay It Forward

10 Mar

Sometimes even the simplest of simplest things like returning a lost cellphone can make you feel like you’ve accomplished something. Just this afternoon when I was making a run to the bank to withdraw some money from the ATM, I noticed right above the machine sat a polished and shiny phone. It looked like an in-shape Blackberry. To be honest, I didn’t really notice much. My instincts kicked in and I just grabbed it and walked inside to the pregnant greeter in the front of the bank who worked there and told her that someone had left their phone on top of the ATM machine. Then I walked over and completed my transaction, like any average citizen, at least I would think so, would. I was on lunch break with my mom (don’t judge me – her job is right up the block from mine so we were meeting up this afternoon to chit chat), so she saw what I did, too. So did another guy withdrawing some dough from another machine.

“You know that was really nice of you,” he said to me.

I thanked him, but really..I had my own phone. Why would I need another? To pawn it? Sell it? It’s wrong and downright dumb. I would hope that someone would do the same thing should I ever lose my own personal belongings, but that’s just wishful thinking.

No sooner was my Mom finishing up her transaction did I see this tall, dark man with dreads dressed to the nine go up to the machine I had just withdrew money from. He asked the woman who was now there if she had seen a phone. I asked him if he was looking for a cellphone and not to my surprise, he responded with a “Yes.”

I told him I had just given it to the woman inside and then he not-so-casually gave me a burly hug and thanked me while he called me a “life saver.” I thought it was nice and genuine to say the least. Might I been someone else, I would’ve kept the phone. But I wasn’t. I would’ve never kept it or sold it somewhere down the line. It felt good paying it forward, so they call it. Sometimes you can’t always be a mean and nasty New Yorker. Oh, who am I kidding. I might just elbow someone for no good reason. But today was a good day folks!

Leave a Reply

