NaPoWriMo – Day 1, Day 2, Day 3 + Day 4

4 Apr

I decided to take on a new writing project – NaPoWriMo – which challenges writers to write a poem a day for the month of April. That’s 30 poems in 30 days. I thought, why not, right? I haven’t been delving into much poetry as of lately so I think it would give me more practice in such. So here goes! I couldn’t get to the first few days and posting them on my blog until now – so here you are everyone. And please support the fellow writers on NaPoWriMo because there is so much inspiration to go around!

Day 1 – In This Lifetime

She wakes as

Her back

Cracks from the

Burdens of life

Tingling of her toes

Pressing against

The earth

The moon

The shadows beyond reasonable doubt

All is gone.

Coffee brews

Under her nose

Church bells

Ring

In

Her

Ears

Soft breeze and

Her neck up to the sun

All is gone.

Her body

So fragile

And meek

Her hands

Young and

Fresh as a baby’s bottom

Her peaks no longer

Shadows become death

She sits and waits for it to come

All that she has known is gone.

Day  2 – Manless Man/ Ode to Fatherless Fathers: An Open Letter

Manless man,

You bare your seeds,

You don’t plant them

Nor see them grow.

Oh, Farmer?

Never!

Shameless to your kin.

A child growing up

Fatherless? She should’ve

Been raised by wolves.

Manless man,

The excuses you’ve named

Them all

You broke your vows – yes.

But when you break you

Promise to your kids – it’s

A different game.

Oh, Father of the Year, you say?

Come around when you choose

Pick a date,

Graduation, prom, first job –

And you want the credit?

What did you do being a

Hundred miles away,

no calls,

no cards,

no contact?

But you have the suit and tie

polished and ready?

Manless man,

Face the facts –

In order to be a father

You have to be a man

First and take after your

Own!

Not just until they’re old

Enough to handle themselves,

But your kids need you just as much as you

Needed your parents.

Day 3 – pwoermd (one-word poem)

womlovaner

Day 4 – Body of Mine

sweat trickles

down the small

of my nape

seeping into the

bulge of my back

down the wide waist

with hips that sit

atop a round bottom

bare

beautiful

ME

the hair that prickles

the stubbles I call stems

when I throw on a pair

of glamorous heels

or the unpolished toes

and undone hair that reaches past the angular

shoulders.

this body that’s mine

these stretch marks that twine themselves and creep and curve into all secret spots I haven’t found.

this body that’s mine,

this sanctuary I own.

2 Responses to “NaPoWriMo – Day 1, Day 2, Day 3 + Day 4”

  1. Christina Rodriguez April 4, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    I’m so glad that you decided to do NaPoWriMo! These are great. Where did you get the idea for the one word poem? I look forward to seeing the rest of them for the month.

    • margaritalopez April 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

      Thank you for the support Christina! I got the idea for the one word poem from the Day 3 prompt on NaPoWriMo’s site. It just sort of came to me as I looked over the one or two examples. Keep writing, darling!

Leave a Reply

