NaPoWriMo – Day 16, Day 17, Day 18 + Day 19

19 Apr

Day 16 – Black Fire

I pulled down the shades and when I leaned over the candle, I burned my arm, flame cutting my skin. I ran to the sink and ran cold water on it to stop the sting. I forgot to put the candle out. It fell to the floor, catching the shade on fire. The flame rose. Heat hit me. I could see the flames rise and I stood watching like a deer in the headlights. Silent and still. I waved the flames so they could escape the kitchen. I blinked some moments later and it turned to black dust and smoke. It was gone.

Day 17 – womyn I am

womyn like everyday

womyn

cling to you like every force I know

breathe you in

you carry the weight of the world on your shoulders

much like mine

but she still manages to laugh and hug

at the end of the night

kiss me close

hold me tight

push her own kin

just so they didn’t have

the desk jobs she did

a face so clear as mine

you shed your tears

so I can catch them in my hands

we carry each other because

I

am

you

Day 18 – By Way of Purple 

a long purple scarf 

that sits above the window sill 

purple of its color but dull in its life

streaks of purple in rainbows hitting the sidewalks in the street

see the purple sky falling above you; or the

lillies and orchids with bright purples blossoming

Day 19 – Just Like Him

I was always the new child

Always seeing through his smile

Knowing when not to laugh

Even when it was funny

The joke is on you now

We could’ve had a life of

Daddy’s girl tales, softball games

and I wish you wells

Instead I got the short end of the stick

Got the Mom who plays the Dad on

Easter, Birthdays and even had to call in

and make like you were sick

The bruises have long gone

Now I’m just stuck with this numbing pain

That never seems to go away

It’s like you’re there but nowhere to be found

The older I get the more I see myself becoming like

You

and it’s scary

because I’m afraid of losing everything

you

have

lost

4 Responses to “NaPoWriMo – Day 16, Day 17, Day 18 + Day 19”

  1. Vanessa April 20, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

    LOVE your way with words… very nice read… will be adding you to my blog roll! 🙂

    • margaritalopez April 20, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

      Thank you for the positivity! VERY much needed and I find your work all the inspiring! I’ll be following yours as well =)

  2. Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe April 21, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    Glad that you have joined the rally.

    stunning piece.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

