My First [Real] Autograph..A Sign To Me

27 May

Okay, okay I know I’m going to sound like a cheesy, teenage fan who got starstruck, but this post really doesn’t intend to come off like that. Really. It doesn’t.

Last night I went to see comedian/actor/performer John Leguizamo in his new one-man show, Ghetto Klown. While he never lets you down or manages to upset with his gritty, Latino, but never too macho New York accent he always surprises you. In his monologues he revealed plenty that a fan for so long, even I had no knowledge of.

The introduction began with the voice prompters saying it would take us on a crazy roller coaster and it did. That it surely did.

There were moments in his work in Ghetto Klown that resonated with my own life and ones he shared about his that felt like he were talking about relationships I have with people in my life.

He spoke about those hardships with such candor I really just then appreciated the man behind the punch lines, behind all the funny jokes. He wasn’t just about delivering a gut-teasing laugh that bounced off the theater walls. He wanted to send a message and every message he sent was never really the same.

There was a moment in the show when right before the intermission everything he was talking about got serious. He was talking about someone he always ever talked and highlighted about in his work. Then it hit me. Even though I was in the balcony section and he really couldn’t see me, although I like to think he could, I felt like he and I were experiencing the same thing. [I really am going to refrain from any particular points of what he talked about, simply because I don’t want to take away from that experience and what it could potentially mean for anyone else]

I sat in my seat with tears welled up and even though you might think I’m a big baby for letting a comedian make me emotional, really it was that a comedian and actor who could make me laugh and cry at two very different moments made me feel completely in tune with him. I knew exactly what he was feeling, because I felt and feel the same thing he does. Was it just coincidence that I was there and his message was relevant to me? Were his words a sign or a message to me?

When he came back from intermission, right before his closing words, he had come full circle on this “roller coaster” journey and his message rang truer to me even more. I had even more to read into with his words. Who would’ve known that him and I are so much alike in this crazy, fucked up world. He on the stage with bright, white lights and I in the audience, listening to the journey and words all too familiar to my own.

After the show, my Mom and I waited outside to see if he would come out to sign some autographs and take his picture. Sure enough only about 15 minutes after the performance was over, he came out and greeted fans and signed every last autograph. I thanked him and listened on as he barely chatted with a few fans. Everyone wanted to know where he was going to be next or when he was going to be in another town. I couldn’t say it safely that he’s someone we can never get enough of.

I think this is actually the first real autograph I have and when I say real I mean that as in an autograph that mattered to me or someone whose work and art I admire a bunch. When we look beyond a person, we see their true character and who they are beyond just words. I always loved Johnny Legz, but last night it was like a huge epiphany of sorts to have him there performing and be in the audience, my first live performance of his. I’m gonna stop praising him, but how can you not? It’s writers and artists like him that stand for more than just making money. It’s about the love of doing what they do to share their journey with others. I can’t wait to share mine with everyone, too.

3 Responses to “My First [Real] Autograph..A Sign To Me”

  1. bluebell Books May 28, 2011 at 6:07 pm #

    Glad you got an autograph.
    lovely piece of writing…

  2. turtle beach June 23, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I to find It truly helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to offer one thing back and help others like you helped me.

    • margaritalopez July 19, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Thank you for your inspiring words. It truly means alot and please, I encourage you to comment or ask questions if you ever have any!

      “Wherever you go, go with all your heart.” – Confucius

Leave a Reply

