A Penny For Your Ignorant Thoughts

9 Sep

Given that the 10 year anniversary of 9/11 is literally right around the corner, I really haven’t talked about it much with anyone. But, this morning on my way into work most people who have to take the train at or get off on the 34th Street station would know that it didn’t stop there due to police activity/ investigations. I get that the city is on high alert and as we should be. We’re too casual. We, as U.S. citizens kind of think we’re inevitably never going to be touched. Well, 10 years ago, terrorists showed us that we probably shouldn’t continue to think that way anymore.

I have a VERY liberal view when it comes to government and politics and such, so it doesn’t surprise me that when I was beginning to have a conversation with a coworker this morning, she turned around and gave me piercing eyes and called me uneducated and naive once I said, “I could totally see why other countries dislike Americans and why they would want to make an attack on us.” In all honesty, looking outside of the box, though I don’t consider myself an extremist or a terrorist at all – I would probably want to rebel against the U.S. if I were in the others’ shoes.

Granted, the U.S. does try to bring democracy on a global level, but there is alot of fear when someone or some country comes in and “takes over” to see that their country is on the up and up to what democracy should epitomize. Some, not all, people don’t agree with change. Many people do agree with the type of system they have in their countries. Some might ask for guidance to improve its country. No matter what, whenever you involve another country in your own country’s business – not everyone will agree to it. Which is why activists exist and unfortunately, extremists and terrorists. You’re always going to have people disagree with things. That’s just how the cookie crumbles.

Sure – I will admit that I am not polished when it comes to politics and history (because honestly, they were never my greatest subjects in school), but the little I do know, I can speak for.

My coworker told me, as if I didn’t already know, that the U.S. is a great country and it brings democracy to many a people outside the U.S. I for one, don’t think the U.S. needs to be involved in every little thing concerning all of these countries. But this is the foundation in which our country has always thrived on – so of course, how else can the U.S. not be involved?

She then told me, “These other countries are so terrible. They need us. Why don’t you go live in another country and see what it’s like.”

When I told her I had and that I lived in Argentina for a month (while studying as well), her response was, “That’s not living. That’s visiting.”

I might have only been there a short time, but I was thrown into the culture, the life and means of what it was to be an Argentine.You call that visiting? During that time I was able to live through some awesome things and learn about some crazy stuff that was all part of Argentina’s history. I spoke with a living survivor of the Dirty War who was also a supporter of “Las Madres de los Desaparecidos” and the organization Las Madres de la Plaza de Mayo, women whose children were abducted/disappeared during the Dirty War between 1976 and 1983. I spoke to this woman, who told me stories of how she had to hide her two children in closets, cabinets and the oddest of places so that she could keep them alive. Thousands of children and people were taken during that time, which are still unaccounted for. I watched these women walk and stand in protest, over 20 and 30 years later still fighting for answers on the whereabouts of their children. To me, that’s more special than just reading about it in a book. 

Alot of written things don’t necessarily make them all true. It’s figuring out what happened and how it happened that you can then sort of make your own judgments and determinations on. I think we as Americans kind of can’t afford to keep a narrow mind on all things foreign, but my opinions are my own and no one else’s. You know it’s a great Friday when you have these kinds of conversations. Ha!

Leave a Reply

