The Dreadful Year of 24

11 Oct

I’m turning 25 in a little over three months and from what I’ve heard, the year leading up to the ‘BIG 25’ is actually one of the worst years of most womens’ lives. Honey, I can’t agree more.

This past year, more like eight months so far and being 24 has been some of the most dreadful months of my adult life I’ve ever experienced. Let me tell you why, briefly and indirectly. They’ve been depressing, full of emotion and anxiety due to intimate relationship issues, feelings of “Where Is My Life Headed” angst has crept up all of the time, and I’ve tried revisiting past issues with my Father (who I don’t have a great relationship with) to try to reconnect with him – so much so that I’ve had a consultation with a therapist to seek ongoing counseling. I’m not ashamed of saying it now than I was of making the initial call. I think I have tons of things I have to work on within myself and this year, I exploded thinking I could handle it all on my own and keeping it all bottled inside and not talking about my past the way I needed to. Talking about the things I’ve gone through and the way I really felt about things without sugarcoating it and not holding back for fear of hurting someone’s feelings is exactly what I need. It literally was the worst year of my adult life.

In retrospect, I’m learning to humble myself more and take these all as lessons learned and move on from them, but to talk about them, too. And always to the right person. I’ve heard more than once that being 24 was the hardest year alot of women have had to face. I can imagine what being 30 is like, then.

2 Responses to “The Dreadful Year of 24”

  1. Reymiliz M. October 11, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    As Usual !! I love this although I will say it has me dreading turning 24 a little ! 🙂

  2. margaritalopez October 11, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    Rey! I don’t even want to scare you about turning 24.. brace yourself, though. Getting older isn’t as easy at all, but this I think you know already. I’ll keep you in the loop, I’m only one year ahead of you so not like I have much of a gap ahead of you haha.

Leave a Reply

