Mums The Word

7 Nov

I don’t get many chances to actually make plans with people and they actually always follow through as planned. Life is usually always the one to blame.

But when plans you make actually follow through as planned and go as you had hoped – everything just works. With the holidays just around the corner, I’m pretty excited about making new plans with people and venturing out on some new things, too.

Let me just make one thing clear – what I do on my own time is my own business. Honestly, I cannot express this in a way that people will not be offended once they read this because in essence they will probably think it is geared toward them. No, please do not flatter yourself too much. More than once I’ve been asked “Why didn’t you ask me to come to this?” or “How come I didn’t get to go?” “Why wasn’t I there?” “I saw you were at such and such a place.”

I do not post pictures or comments on my Facebook feed for the world to see nor do I think Facebook is Twitter. At least I don’t feel the need to post my whereabouts and check into places every ten minutes or tag every person I’m with every fifteen minutes. I like my private life just the way it is – private.

Honestly, who and what I do should be none of your business no matter what I’m putting on my page for viewing. Granted, it’s there for showing, but it’s not there for you to ask personal questions about my whereabouts and why I’m talking to this person and what I’ve been up to. It’s none of your business, so don’t make it your business to ask me. If I’m not asking you questions, then neither should you.

The fact that I’m even blogging about this makes my skin crawl to the tenth degree.

I’ve had the talk about what Facebook has done over the years since it’s been in creation and it really does ruin peoples’ lives. At least it has the potential to. Someone asked me yesterday if I had been dating someone, why wouldn’t I want to change my status to “In a Relationship” on Facebook. Seriously, though? I told her, “It’s Facebook. Who cares about that?” The truth is – everyone does. It’s like this social hierarchy that everyone has without really having. Knowing what everyone is up to is this creepy, voyeuristic thing I have been having this unsettling feeling with Facebook & everything about it lately.

So, with just a little over two months away until my big 25th birthday – I’m literally planning on going away for the weekend and making plans without even thinking about it much. I might just throw up a little peace sign & say see you later NY. Not too much thought into it – just book a getaway and go.

And no, you’re not invited to come nor know who I’m with or where I am. Muhahaha!

8 Responses to “Mums The Word”

  1. voucher wow November 27, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    voucher wow
    Wow, what a read! I must show your site to my sister…

    • margaritalopez December 1, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Thank you. Just that you’re showing my blog to someone else is a compliment in itself. Glad you’re enjoying the reads 😉

  2. vouchers for chester zoo November 30, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    vouchers for chester zoo
    Do you have a Twitter handle I could follow?

    • margaritalopez December 1, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

      Unfortunately, I don’t have a Twitter account. I haven’t quite found myself diving into Tweeting just yet, but I have given some serious thought into it for networking and writing purposes.

    • margaritalopez December 5, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

      I now have Twitter! See my post here on my new Twitter adventures.

      You can follow me @WordsofLopez

      =D

  3. voucher codes December 5, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    voucher codes
    Do you have a Facebook Fan Page I could subscribe to?

    • margaritalopez December 5, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

      No, I don’t. But I do have Twitter where you can follow me a bit more. I’ll be posting some writing there as well.

      Follow @WordsofLopez

      =)

  4. vouchers for chester zoo December 7, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    vouchers for chester zoo
    Do you have a Facebook Fan Page I could subscribe to?

Leave a Reply

