To Travel Or Not To Travel [Alone]

16 Nov

When it comes to traveling or vacationing, I’m usually adamant about going with at least one other person – albeit a good friend or even a few other people or the person I’m dating. Even if it’s just for a weekend thing. It’s weird, because naturally – I’m kind of a loner I guess. Not one of those sad, sulky loners. But I do a ton of things on my own and I’m kind of a carefree, spirited kind of person. I don’t need someone to hold my hand for anything and though there are these people that I know who need to go to the corner store with someone – that’s just not me. I’m not afraid to step out of my comfort zone at all even if it does take me some time to do it. There’s just one thing I’ve yet to step out of my comfort level with – and that’s vacationing alone.

I’ve been open to the idea of vacationing to other places and I thought maybe if I should start, I ought to start out small. Like weekend trips – maybe to Maine or Cape May. Nothing remotely far. Then maybe I’d be a little more comfortable going further distances and traveling without needing someone to accompany me.

Truth is..I happen to like sharing vacationing experiences with people who like to vacation and travel. It’s more fun when you can enjoy it with someone who enjoys the thrills of traveling and the adventure of it.

Ironically enough – I always had this fear of sitting down to eat alone. Maybe it was this awkward feeling I got everytime I sat down to eat lunch or something when I was by myself. But sometimes it just feels so great to be able to sit by yourself and relax and unwind without having to attend to someone else. Now it’s never a problem for me to sit alone whenever I’m out at a restaurant or eatery.

So, the point in this post?

I’m planning on traveling again and thinking of where my feet should land. Then I’m thinking of who I’ll be going with on my travels. But, should I even be thinking about that? Should I just be going along and exploring something new by traveling alone? Can I really rely on people to travel with all of the time? Probably not.

I can’t always expect people to always find the same interests as I do in traveling, but it would be kind of sweet if some people did. =D

Maybe traveling isn’t as bad as I’m making it seem. I might just have to see for myself if I can muster up enough courage to follow through with it.

10 Responses to “To Travel Or Not To Travel [Alone]”

  1. Nate November 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Hey there, I found your post surfing the “travel” tags. Really great honest thoughts here. Traveling with another is never a bad idea, however traveling alone always opens the doors for a great adventure. I recently starting traveling alone (I went to Iceland by myself for a spring break from college) and it turned out to be an amazing experience. By traveling alone you will be on your own schedule, and you can change that schedule whenever you want. You’ll also find that you’ll meet great people while traveling where ever you go. I made a great friend out of someone I met from Sweden who was also traveling in Iceland and we ended up traveling together for a few days. So, even though you leave on your trip by yourself, you’ll find that you wont ever truly be alone.

    Just a thought! But if you find a friend willing to travel with you there is absolutely nothing wrong with that either!

    Nate

    • margaritalopez November 16, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      Thank you for the comment, Nate! It’s funny that you tell me about your traveling alone experiences and how positive they’ve been. I met someone on my last trip to the Dominican Republic by the name of Gideon from Canada and he was traveling alone and I believe he had done it before. He said he was having a great time & was telling us about all of these people he was meeting. In turn, we were meeting great people too. So I kind of felt like, well I can still meet people even when I’m by myself. I meet people all of the time (on the bus or train, walking down the street). I guess it’s just about how you look at it and putting traveling by yourself in a different perspective.

      Very great advice and thoughts to keep in mind for future travels!

  2. Amy December 5, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Hi,

    I love to travel alone because I meet amazing people and can take my time to explore. You would be surprised how nice people are. I went to Europe for a month to seven countries by myself. I also went to Costa Rica for 8 days and British Virgin Islands for 5 days by myself and love it. All these trips were in my thirties. I am now 41 not married and without children. If I waited for someone to have the time or money to go all these places with me I probably would have never had the chance. I have lots of places on my bucket list that I want to see with or without anyone. So go for it ! You will not regret it I promise.

    • margaritalopez December 5, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Thank you for sharing about your adventures! It sounds like you’ve been to some amazing places all over the world. Hearing about your experiences definitely keeps my mind open about traveling alone, for sure. I think once you travel alone once it erases any skepticism you have about traveling alone. I’m definitely planning on doing it very soon.

  3. halong cruise tour December 10, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was once a amusement account it. Look complicated to far brought agreeable from you! By the way, how can we keep in touch?

  4. tours halong bay December 10, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    You can certainly see your skills within the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. All the time follow your heart.

    • margaritalopez December 14, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

      Your words of encouragement and endearment are what keep writers like myself going. Thank you – it means more to me than you imagine.

  5. halong bay tour December 11, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    Fantastic put up, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not understand this. You should continue your writing. I’m confident, you’ve a huge readers’ base already!|What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I have discovered It absolutely useful and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different users like its aided me. Great job.

    • margaritalopez December 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

      Thank you! I imagine that travelers, new and seasoned alike have found traveling solo to be a topic that can always use some fine tuning in any area and there can always be a story to tell of any kind. Unfortunately we hear in the news about kidnappings and missing persons when people travel abroad and often times when they travel in groups. I wonder what the stories are like when people travel on their own? I’m thinking out loud, don’t mind me – that’s my journalistic brain hashing out a story. I hope you’ll keep reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

