Happy Maggie!

22 Nov

This might just be another random post, but brace yourself. You’ve been warned. =D

Ahh, the things that keep me sane and living every day like it’s Friday. In no way do I mean to sound like I’m gloating, but when I’m happy – I have to embrace it, because no one person is making me feel happy or one relationship is doing it for me. I’m doing it for me. Too often I’ve put people’s happiness and their priorities ahead of my own and that’s just no more for me. To be honest, I’m tired of singing the same sad love song as Miss Toni Braxton would say. I’ve checked out on that agenda.

Moving along…

Pretty awesome things are happening to the people around me which have in turn been making me one happy camper. Being able to be a little ray of hope and inspiration to my circle has been inspiring me to do what I love and keep me going every single day that I have absolutely no reason to not be happy. This weekend, I helped my ten year old cousin with a speech she was giving because she was running for class president, which I have to add that even though I helped her get the words onto paper and into a cohesive way – all of the thoughts were her own. She framed the speech all on her own. She even told me how she thought she should start and end the speech! I’m proud of her to say the least and not just because she won, but because she took on a challenge like that and only because her teacher suggested she run for class president. Now she’s running for school president. Fun GLEE-inspired projects ahead? YES! Anything to dive into my youth for a little bit.

Just this weekend, I had one of the most productive weekends ever. I didn’t spend it working like most weekends and putting in much overtime. I spent it all on ME! And of course putting in some time with much needed people and inspiring thoughts and creative ideas. I’m getting this brain going and digging into some things and once it’s going there’s no telling where it will go and when it will stop.

Most of this year I was busy spending my time on other people when I should’ve been focused on myself & the places I was going. But rather than spending the rest of my life and spending time on the ‘should’ve, could’ve, would’ve’s ‘ I’m just going to plunge forward with everything I’ve got and do things a little differently this time. Still the same Margarita, just with a little twist.

I secretly hate that I’m sounding like loads of cliches right now and everything I’m saying is like a laundry list of girl punk phrases, but whatever. I’m a girl, dammit. Let me have my moment.

Random thought – but as I’ve been in this whole “focusing on me” high, I’ve also been adding to my bucket list and taking to treating myself in ways I definitely am super happy about. This girl right here is always happy. Since moving a few months ago, I’ve been slowly but surely decorating the new place and I’ve forgotten just how much thought goes into decorating. My bedroom feels kind of bland, but I picked up these small shelves from Target and I’m definitely looking for more inspiration and ways to spice up my bedroom.

There are probably two things I want for my room that are symbolic and one of which is here:

Yes, a dreamcatcher. I mostly want it because I’ve always loved them and always loved the meaning behind them. Though most people probably don’t know this about me because I don’t share it with many people – I do have Native American roots from my Father’s side which were only so vivid in my Grandmother when she was alive.

As you can see, there are plenty of things and people in my life keeping my feet on the ground and keeping me happy and living my life to the utmost that I can. There are way to many good days to look ahead to – especially now.

2 Responses to “Happy Maggie!”

  1. Myrtie Gipple December 14, 2011 at 5:00 am #

    I?m impressed, I must say. Really rarely do I encounter a weblog that?s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient people are speaking intelligently about. I am very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing relating to this.

    • margaritalopez December 14, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

      Thank you for such kind words and your review of my blog. As much as I’m still learning myself, I see this blog as another outlet to my writing and a way for me to express myself creatively through words and some images when the chance permits. I hope you’ll keep reading! =D

Leave a Reply

