Nobody Likes a Debbie Downer

23 Nov

There’s one type of person or group of people in the world that makes my skin crawl and makes me want to scream at the top of my lungs – the type of person that just doesn’t know when to stop complaining, walks around miserable and like the last thing that you think actually made them happy was probably when their diaper was changed, which is saying alot. It takes me alot to “talk” about people and sashay their business around – because I never do. But, really, this one person has really become the Debbie Downer of the Year and I’m not sure how to take her antics anymore.

I posted a Facebook status about a conversation I had with a co-worker as the 9/11 anniversary was approaching. I won’t even repeat how the conversation went, but just know that she was turned off by my unbiased opinions of the Middle East and their unrelenting approach to want to attack American soil. Granted, I don’t believe in war or hate on hate crimes, but I can see how Extremists would see 9/11 as being moral and just. Granted in 99.99% of most of the world’s mind – it wasn’t. And I wholeheartedly agree, but it was this co-worker who felt turned off by my unbiased and open-minded views that threw up her hands in dismay and said she was upset. Upset with what? My response? Come on.

I learned one thing out of that. You can’t talk religion or politics with certain people. Period. Especially people who have a closed opinion and judge things based on how they see them without thinking about everyone and everything that is involved.

Nobody likes a Debbie Downer. Seriously, though. This same co-worker starts her day and walks in, feet heavy, huffing and puffing and begins her work complaining about every small thing you can think of from the heat in the room to tripping over the wires and whatever task she’s given to complete. There isn’t a day that goes by that she’s in the office that I don’t hear the phrase come from her, “I’m roasting, My Goshhhh,” and all I can think of is “Me too, but I’m not complaining about it.”

Here’s another scenario that happened just yesterday that kind of ticked me a little, but I just let it roll off my back. She e-mailed me asking me for my personal home address and another co-workers address. I ignored it. When she asked me the next day at work if I read the e-mail, I said “Oh, no I haven’t gotten to check my e-mails.” She said, “When you get a minute check your e-mail. I sent you something.” The following day, she asked me about the e-mail again when our boss wasn’t around. So, I said, “Yeah. Did I ever give you my address before?” She said No. I asked her what she needed it for. She said, “Just to have it. What’s the big deal? Do you not want me to have your address?” I let it go. I then told her if she wanted our other co-worker’s address, she was going to have to ask him herself. She responded with, “I’m not a stalker. I work here.”

That may be true. But because I have access to the information she was looking for, there was no need for her to go about it in a sneaky way. Plus, I’m not about to cross any boundaries or give out people’s personal information without even so much as their permission. You would think people would know this.

So, I don’t mean to be a complainer either – but working with Debbie Downer’s is just a poisonous environment. Sometimes it makes you feel like working with the type of person will make you just like that, too. At least if you give it long enough. I mean, I never take my work attitudes home with me. Ever. I leave work at work and home at home. It’s a must. But seeing just how much people have this Debbie Downer attitude is such a turn off, especially in a work environment – it brings down the moral of everyone else you’re around and it’s just a turn off, period. In fact, you probably spend more energy on being miserable and walking around with a chip on your shoulder all of the time than wearing the best thing you have in your closet – a smile!

3 Responses to “Nobody Likes a Debbie Downer”

  1. pozycjonowanie warszawa December 11, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Hi! Is it ok to use these information in my prject? thanks!

    • margaritalopez December 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

      E-mail me for further questions on this post in particular. Thanks!

  2. Darnell Cerza December 17, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    A person essentially assist to make significantly articles I might state. That is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I amazed with the research you made to make this actual post incredible. Excellent process!

Leave a Reply

