And So, I Tweet

2 Dec

I’ve finally caved into Twitter and to be honest – it’s not so bad. It’s a little strange at first retweeting and whatnot but like anything else – there has to be change somehow.

I was contemplating on joining Twitter for a while because not only was I starting to feel like Facebook was starting to take over my life, but I wanted to change my pace with the way I use social networking in a way that benefits my career. In fact, I happen to find Twitter all the more voyeuristic and creepy – so can’t win there. But I’m not using it to post things about my personal life, because we all know what happens there don’t we?

Joining Twitter actually came a little easier after I’ve been getting more readership on my blog from readers I normally haven’t targeted with my tags or keywords. Also seeing one of my readers here ask me for my Twitter handle to follow me there as well just made me finally cave in. I can see just how easy it is, especially for writers and artists trying to brand themselves, as am I, to gain more readership and support. It’s a super rewarding thing to see people make requests and it really gave me a push to just go with it. So I’m probably going to spend more time with social media than I ever anticipated, but in the end I think it’s going to be some kind of amazing. Okay, I sound like I just gulped a bottle of Twitter-happiness. =D

Follow Me!

@WordsofLopez

3 Responses to “And So, I Tweet”

  1. Natasha McNeely December 2, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    Twitter really isn’t anywhere near as bad as many people make it out to be. I know that at first, I blatantly refused to get it. Then I caved and got it to help expand my writing platform. If memory serves me right, I started my Twitter at the end of July, and am already at over 120 followers!

    Good luck with your Twitter adventure. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • margaritalopez December 5, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

      That’s pretty awesome. I’m actually excited about starting up with Twitter and I’m only really planning on using it to enhance my writing and take it to another outlet. Congrats on your progress & success! What’s your handle so that I can follow some of your work?

      • Natasha McNeely December 5, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

        I hope it works out for you, the same way it has for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

        My Twitter is the same as my blog, so @NatashaMcNeely

Leave a Reply

