Christmas in The Bones

9 Dec

After such a crazy, hectic and fun week I really can’t complain. I mean, Christmas is two weeks away. It’s kind of surreal almost. But I love Christmas and the holidays. I truly feel like a kid again. The older I get, not only the more excited I get about presents under the tree – but it becomes more for me about the giving aspect of Christmas. After such an amazing day yesterday I really do feel like there are so many people out there that are just in need of more things that are just more basic than electronic gadgets and shiny toys. Though they’re fun to have, there are kids out there who are suffering with greater things in their lives than what to write on their Christmas list – because they might not get to make it until Christmas. Or a family just might not be able to afford to say that Santa was good to them this year.

Every year, my Mom and I have given to a charity and I always was under the presumption that she gave because it was a reputable charity. The other day when the St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital commercial came on, she mentioned that she was going to remind herself to put a check in the mail for them this week. My mom could have her last dollar, and she’d still donate to them every year. But I finally found out why this particular charity was one that she donated to every year. Once the commercial ended she said, “I donate to them especially because Mommy had Leukemia.” Then I thought, “But these are kids. Grandma was older when she passed.” So she responded with, “Yes but kids grow into adults and that’s what we want.” Her response made my heart smile and a lightbulb went off and I agreed wholeheartedly. We DO want kids to grow into healthy adults and lead this world into a safe, loving and wonderful place to live.

Another charity I am very close to because of the work I’ve been involved with in the recent past is Breast Cancer Awareness and particularly the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Foundation. I worked for an organization that worked with the Komen Foundation and it’s a pretty great charity that is always hard at work to raise awareness and increase every community’s involvement about breast health not only for women but for men, too.

I know that Christmas is about giving and because I normally feel like my heart is bigger than my head (though my five head will tell you otherwise), I just think giving back is the right thing to do. I don’t think that having the attitude of “Well if I give back then I’ll get back ten fold” is the right way out either and that’s not what I’m aiming for. Being able to give to people to show support is what in turn I would hope people would do if I were ever in their situations or circumstances. Now that I’ve really got Christmas coursing through my veins and the holiday spirit – it’s time to spike the Egg Nog & get these holiday parties started. Who’s with me!?! =D

One Response to “Christmas in The Bones”

  1. Miguelina Decasas December 13, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    There are some attention-grabbing cut-off dates on this article but I don?t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There may be some validity however I will take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as properly

Leave a Reply

