Spontaneity, Was That You Knocking At My Door This Weekend?

6 Feb

It’s not too often that I make plans and sometimes they spontaneously shift and with good cause. Usually I like to plan things way ahead of the game. I sometimes like to be in control of things and like to see things go according to my plans. But it’s nice to just let things go off track every once in a while and not just plan every little thing down to the last little detail. So when I had plans to see one of my good friends who I see every couple of months – sometimes twice a year – I thought we were just going to chill at her place, cozy up and lay low and just bullshit the whole night. I thought that was the plan. But she totally surprised me and said she was taking me to dinner – to one of my favorite Thai restaurants in Brooklyn, SEA which is the sister restaurant to SPICE which is my other love. If you haven’t been and you really enjoy Asian food, you seriously MUST go. It’s in Williamsburg and there are tons of other restaurants and bars around. Definitely not a miss.

She surprised me with a little treat and it was an awesome friend date, as we call them! Thanks, boo! =)

And this was my hot tamale that was sitting across from me, outdressing me and all that. As she usually does. I need to start shopping with her. Seriously.

Date Night!

Funny enough it didn’t end there. We went to a bar her friend was bartending at and while she had a few drinks, I had my beer. Yeah, I know. I’m just not used to the social scene much. I’ve been hibernating as of late which I think has just changed this past weekend. Even more funnier, the one time I get up from my seat to go to the bathroom and come back, I come back to a shot which a random stranger in the bar bought for me. As he walked over to take the shot with me, I thought to myself, “Please don’t gag.” I don’t remember the last time I took a shot of anything. Oh yeah, nevermind. I do. And I never want to think about that time ever again.

The rest of my weekend was absolutely filled with more spontaneity. I got to see my other bestie, Josh! Who eventually I believe will wind up having my babies if I get too old and I’m still single without any children. We gossiped and vented over original Cherry Cokes and triple decker sandwiches at our favorite joint – Johnny Rockets. No one understands why we love that place – everyone thinks it’s probably the most disgusting chain in New York City, but we love it. It brings us back to the old days of high school for us and it makes us feel young again I suppose. It’s nostalgia at it’s finest. It was the perfect Friday night.

Classic Cherry Coke & Oreo Milkshake with my bestie - Yes please!

On top of it all I knew I was going to be spending this weekend with my little cousin Yasmine, who I often croon about. She’s 10 going on 20. I love her to pieces and sometimes I get a little emotional because I remember how much I would squeeze the love out of her when she was so tiny. I can’t do that anymore because it’s gross to her. But at least I can paint my nails with her and sometimes shopping can be fun to her like picking out my bed set and fuzzy pillows, which thankfully she was there to help me with that daunting task. We spent the weekend entirely on us and I took her to one of our favorite places in Brooklyn, The Painted Pot. There are two studios (Park Slope/Carroll Gardens & Bay Ridge), but I’ve only been to the one in Bay Ridge. It’s such a great way to relieve stress. We sat there, painting our projects in almost complete silence. I don’t think it was because we didn’t have anything to say to eachother, but because we were both enjoying it. People often talk through their painting all of the time – in fact I couldn’t help but overhear the people sitting behind us and their conversations. I just was so into what I was doing it didn’t really phase me much. And I don’t think it did to her either.

I think you can tell…

Mini Me's awesome work of art!

Overall, a sponteanous weekend well worth it. I guess sometimes there are some things you don’t need to plan and just go with the flow.

Leave a Reply

