‘Marry Me, Carry Me, Ride Away With Me..’

1 Mar

The title of this post is actually a line from one of my favorite childhood lullabies my Mother used to sing to me growing up called Tony Boy and it was like NyQuil for me. After maybe two or three run throughs of the song, I’d be knocked out. It was catchy and somehow everytime she sang it, I pictured the scenes played out in my head. Probably because it’s based on a love tale. The lullaby goes like this:

Tony Boy, Tony Boy

Won’t you be my Pony Boy?

Don’t say No, Here we go

Far across the plains

Marry me, Carry me, Ride away with me

Giddy up, Giddy up, Giddy up, Giddy up 

Oh Tony Boy, my Pony Boy…

Though I never really looked up the true meaning of this lullaby, I always pictured myself on a pony with a knight in shining armour just as every fairy tale sold to every little girl. It was the epitome of fairy tales but in lullaby form. I’d like to imagine that someday if and when I do have children I’d pass on this lullaby to my kids.

But marriage seems so eerie to me now that I’m getting older. I still hold strong to my values and morals and traditions of it, but the way people in the media and entertainment abuse it is super hard to see sometimes. Take for instance the show The Bachelor, a man who goes on the show and dates upwards of 20 some odd women and dwindles it down to one woman who he knowingly will propose to at the end of the show. But given the many unsuccesses of the seasons – almost all of the men never wind up marrying the women they propose to or worse, they wind up divorcing. I mean, how many more people do you hear of divorcing these days? I talk about this often and it’s heartbreaking to hear of how many young people are getting married just to get divorced in less than ten years’ time.

Bottom line – I think we rush into too much in life. Marriage being ONE of them. I remember before hitting 18 how much I wanted so badly to hit 18 and I thought I was going to be doing a million and one things differently and I was going to go off and live this completely different lifestyle. Then little by little reality starting hitting me and I stopped myself in my tracks and thought, “Well wait a minute. This is a bit harder than I thought.”

In fact, the older that I get, the more time I’m taking and slowing down to enjoy life more instead of wanting to speed things up and rush into marriage and kids and all of these other  life committments.

I know some people in my life who are my age who are either married, engaged or in committed relationships or have these other big committments in their lives and tell me all sorts of things that they would have taken the time to do differently or just taken more time out to do instead of rushing into something or doing something so soon or while they were still young. I never would judge anyone for doing anything because everyone is different and everyone has a different lifestyle. In other words, when the time is right – then you’ll know. But I often find that when we’re still very young and still figuring ourselves out and still growing (as I know I am and I’m a work in progress every day) I could never say I am ready for something that life committing.

There are some roads I’d like to reach before meeting others.

One Response to “‘Marry Me, Carry Me, Ride Away With Me..’”

  1. Tina Rafidi March 6, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    I really enjoy looking at on this website , it has got good blog posts. “Dream no small dreams. They have no power to stir the souls of men.” by Victor Hugo.

Leave a Reply

