A Fortune & A Sign

3 Mar

I’m a firm believer in signs and messages from spiritual beings and God and even innate objects. I’m usually looking for them when they aren’t reaching out to me when I’m kind of in need of some answers or just looking for some uplifting. If I were to tell you how many times my Facebook status read something like, “Where are the signs when I need them,” you would probably think I was blind or always lost in direction trying to find a physical sign.

I’ve been a little bummed out lately with my writing and kind of been procrastinating if you will for lack of a better word. More so, because of other things I’ve been going through in recent months in my personal life my writing has suffered in a sense. Usually writers use that to their advantage and write through their troubles. I’m the total opposite. My writing suffers from everything that goes on in my life and takes a back seat to everything and every emotion that exits my body. It’s a horrible thing, I know – but I’m learning ways to adjust and get better at my writing even when I don’t feel inspired because of everyday life distractions.

Today while I was out at dinner at one of my favorite Asian restaurants in Bay Ridge, Chop Stix, at the end of the meal they always serve you a fortune cookie to each person along with the check. Here’s what mine said:

“Procrastination is the fear of success.”

I almost breathed a sigh of relief when I read this because it made sense. When I think about my success – I procrastinate with my writing and all of my goals with it and in turn I think I panic and get fearful of the writing process and everything about what’s to come after it. I know that there are no excuses if you want to see your dream come true, but I have my own demons and battles to overcome just as anyone else does. Sometimes it just makes the pot that much thicker for us to stir before we get to where we are going. Hence, my procrastination.

I took the fortune and hung it up where I can see it everyday, just as a reminder to myself and a little encouragement of what I’m setting out for my future. I guess sometimes you don’t need to look for a sign because it just comes to you when you aren’t paying attention. 

3 Responses to “A Fortune & A Sign”

  1. Fiercely Yours March 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    I just wrote that down to use for myself as well. Very inspiring, thanks for sharing.

    • margaritalopez March 5, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

      You’re most welcome! I love these small anecdotes of inspiration. Happy I could share it. =)

  2. dating tips March 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Hi there, just became alert to your blog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. Many other people shall be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

