STOP KONY 2012

7 Mar

I usually don’t feel the need to post about big advocating things unless I feel really motivated about them, but after reading tons of people on my Facebook newsfeed with the same status for two days straight – I googled what KONY was and stumbled upon this 29 minute long video.

I know the beginning image looks like an eighth grade Sciene video, but it’s far from it. It’s a video that was documented in raw form and eye opening. I know that there are things that go on in this world that we as Americans are so oblivious to, but I failed to realize just how much I wasn’t doing as an activist to see people like Joseph Kony be brought to justice. There are so many people in the world that suffer and while you can’t manage to take on everything in the world at once, you can at least help in fighting to bring one man down. It pains me that these types of criminals still exist in other countries, but not every country is like ours.

There are many causes that I believe in and that I advocate for like Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender rights. I believe that every child should have a right to free and public education and if they aren’t ready to progess to the next grade they can repeat their grade level. I also hold true to my values that every illness, cancer and disease should never be made lightly of and that awareness should always be brought on each so that cures and new medical treatments and discoveries can be made. Finally, I believe that when you feel strongly about something that you should run with your instincts. Just like you should never let anyone back you down from doing what you love, you should never keep anyone from doing something or advocating from something you genuinely feel strong about and is for a good cause and that means well and comes from a good place inside of you. When you do good, it all comes back tenfold.

 

Links:

Invisble Children Inc.

2 Responses to “STOP KONY 2012”

  1. descargar un lugar para soñar March 24, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for novice blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • margaritalopez March 26, 2012 at 11:01 am #

      Thank you for your honest compliments and for continuing to read! The one thing I would give as a piece of advice is to just keep writing, if you could try to stick to it every day even if it’s something short – do it. You will see how much your writing grows in a year, two, and five. It’s the best advice anyone has ever given me and though it’s a challenge, still, it’s something I always follow. Good luck in all of your blogging future!

Leave a Reply

