How I Met My Best Friend..

2 Apr

Though I don’t tell most people this story, it’s actually a pretty funny one and one that me and my best friend laugh about all of the time. Janeris, my best friend of 14 years now actually hated my guts at first. We met in Junior High school and because rumors flew that I had talked about her liking some boy and wanting to “hook up with him,” who actually was my little crush and my two week boyfriend at the time – she hated me for it. We were young, immature and didn’t know anything so she believed the rumors and she approached me in the schoolyard one afternoon about it with her posse from elementary school. I felt cornered. I definitely thought I was a goner. Low and behold the girl who spread the rumor about me and what I had allegedly said about Janeris saying was there the day that Janeris approached me, trying to play both sides.

After it simmered down, for some odd reason Janeris asked me if what was said was really true. Of course it wasn’t and I told her I never had any ill will to say anything about her. I guess she suspected the girl had spread the rumor and she sniffed her out. The girl felt pretty dumb after that.

Janeris and I have been inseparable ever since then. To think that she was my Bully back in Junior High school. I kid with her when I say that, but when I think about it that was probably the only misunderstanding we’ve ever had in all of the years of our friendship. We’ve never lost touch, EVER. She’s been my rock through everything. She’s been the one to carry me through tough times and we’ve shared some amazing memories. No matter where we go in life and where our paths lead us I know that we’ll always have eachother’s back.

When I look at the friendship my Mom and my Godmother have (who are best friends of more than 25 years) I know that it’s the same kind of friendship me and Janeris have. We met the same way – in school and we do the same kind of things together they did. I look at them and I think of the friendship her and I have and it’s the exact same. I admire the friendship they have and the bond they have and I look up to that so much in the friendship I have with my own best friend. It’s what I grasp onto and know that life would never be the same without her.

She just turned 25 this weekend and I know she had an amazing time. It was a night to remember and one that we will be talking about for a long time. Jaji, I love you more than you can possibly imagine. You are one of the strongest women I know and I admire that about you. Because of this, you make me stronger every day and through you I live every day in the moment.

She completes me!

2 Responses to “How I Met My Best Friend..”

  1. Jonathan Martinez April 2, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Your story proves, blood is not thicker than water. Plus one real friend is worth more than 1000 acquaintances.

    • margaritalopez April 2, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      This is so very true. While some people prefer to have a plentiful bunch of friends, I prefer to have a few close BEST friends who naturally will stick around alot longer than my acquaintances. Everyone is different and I don’t knock peoples’ preference. I just happen to have a small circle of loved ones =D

Leave a Reply

